Jamie Phillips

Software Developer

After being complimented on his photo smile: “I’m a natural!”

“What I found out with mountain biking is, when I think about work, I crash. … So, it kind of helps me relax.”

Jamie is an experienced Solutions Architect with a demonstrated history of over 10 years in software development in the consumer goods industry. He is a strong engineering professional, highly skilled in software architecture, agile methodologies, web development, integration, database design, .NET, ArcGIS, Python, SQL, Ember.js, and more.

Work & Education:

Software Developer, Lirio, 2018–Present

Software Engineering Manager, Radio Systems Corporation, 2015–2018

Solutions Architect, Radio Systems Corporation, 2017–2018

Volunteer Organizer, Knox .NET, 2017

Senior Software Engineer, Radio Systems Corporation, 2014–2015

Geospatial Developer, Geographic Information Services, Inc., 2012–2014

Programmer Analyst, City of Austin, 2007–2012

Master’s degree, Geography, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, 2005–2010

BS, Geology, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, 2001–2005

Personal Bio:

Jamie lives in Powell, TN, but originally comes from the Oak Ridge/Clinton area. He and his wife have a one-year-old son named Cooper. Interestingly, Jamie grew up wanting to be a chemist and has his master’s degree in Geography and his bachelor’s in Geology from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Outside of techie stuff and science, Jamie enjoys mountain biking and indie music.

Fun Facts:

Mac or PC: “Linux—even though my background for the last 10 years has been Windows development.”

Favorite artist(s): “As far as art goes, I like Edward Hopper. As far as music goes: The Presidents of United States of America, Cake, Judah & The Lion, 10 Years is from Knoxville, The Georgia Flood … I’m glad we have an indie station because I like different types of music. … A good festival to go to is the White Squirrel Festival in Brevard … It’s bluegrass and folk music.”

Favorite thing as a child: “Science. I wanted to be a chemist since I was in Kindergarten.”

Special hobbies/interests: “Biking. I mainly mountain bike … I do have a road bike.”

About his bike helmet: “It’s a Troy Lee A1.”

“My undergrad is in geology.”